Reading is for the Learned

I think I must stop trying to have quirky titles for my blog.
The internet is full of information, so much so that it can be sometimes hard to find what you are looking for. I am trying to learn about the different classifications of rugs, such as what makes a Persian Kerman area rug a Kerman and so on. I like to know as much about my job as possible, in short I like to be the know-it-all. There is no shortage of rug books in the shop I work at, but they all are written for people who already know about rugs. For instance I was trying to find out more about the Baluch/Baluchi/Beluchi rugs. I found a paragraph in one of the books, but by the time you look up what all the terms mean, such as tree-of-life design, botehs and Mina Khani patterns, you forget what you were looking for in the first place. I did come across a few websites that had information and not just selling the rugs, but again for the unknowing it was a bit “Greek” to me. I find that the rug identification charts only tell you where the rugs are made and the type, but not what makes them a Tabriz.
Does anyone know of a rug identification chart that break it down to knots asymmetric or symmetrical, single or double wefted, type of design-floral or geometric, depressed warp, and so one. It would be handy to have a chart like that so I could compare it to rugs I see everyday. My boss is very knowledgeable about rugs, but he isn’t here everyday to help drill it into my head. So until I or someone else comes up with the kind of chart we need to ID rugs I will be reading as much as I can. I learned about lazy lines and they weren’t what I thought. I would try to explain it to you, but I don’t fully understand it until I see a rug and someone says, ” this is an example of lazy lines.” If you haven’t guessed I am a visual learner.
Thank you for reading, RugloverMary

Leave a Reply

